Friday, December 5, 2008

Awesome find


Look what I bought yesterday!


Friday, November 28, 2008

Turkey Hangover

I'm hung over. Not from red wine (love it!) or gin and tonics (love them!) but from just plain ole eating. I had WAY to much to eat yesterday and now my stomach is sticking out and yelling at me!! Where did I go wrong? I'm usually pretty reserved about this holiday even with the pie. I think it was the big helping of stuffing I had at 10:00 last night to just top the night off. My brother in law gave me a big plate of it and it had bacon and sausage in it...so good! Wait...no...bad, bad!! My sweats are the only comfortable thing I can wear today.

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving yesterday and were able to find a million things to be thankful for. I'm very thankful for my family(ies), my friends, my home, my job, and my health. I know that sounds general but I really am thankful. If not for all those things I would not be able to participate in all the fun things we get to do or have great people to do them with.

Now I am going to look for a bottle of Pepto-Bismol!!

Wednesday, November 26, 2008

Gobble Gobble


I hope everyone has a nice and yummy Thanksgiving! Jamie and I are headed down to Corning tomorrow morning for our dinner with his family. Safe travels to all who are heading home today and tomorrow!


Wednesday, November 19, 2008

On a different note...


If you're feeling bad about yourself today...just take a gander at this.

Twilight critique...no spoilers!!


I liked it...A LOT!! I thought Pattinson made a decent Edward. I also thought they could have made it just a little bit better (this is just me talking) though considering all the hype surrounding it. That is mostly due to the fans though I think...not the filmmakers.

All the intensity of Bella and Edward's relationship was definitely there. Kristen Stewart made a good Bella but she might have been a little too serious. And even though Taylor Lautner is much younger than Pattinson, his character looked like he could already kick Edward's butt! The human cast was very entertaining...especially Eric.

I'll definitely buy it once it comes out on DVD and I'll most likely go see it again in theaters if asked. But more importantly I won a shirt and I never win anything!
The theater was filled with a lot of younger viewers but that didn't bother my friend Dawn (who got me reading these books over the summer) or me. We had a great time!

I give this film 4 out of 5 stars. And if you love the books you'll be very pleased with the movie version. Pattinson gives out some pretty hot/intense looks!

Tuesday, November 18, 2008

GO TEAM EDWARD!!


Ok forget me lamenting about Duran Duran...I'm going to the advance screening of Twilight tonight! I'll let you know how it is tomorrow!

Monday, November 17, 2008

Apologies

I've had some people asking me why I haven't had any new entries in the past couple weeks and I have to apologize for my laziness. It's been a busy November so far! I went to NYC with Ellyn and Jen for the Chocolate Show and shopping which was a lot of fun. I took them to an 80's club that was closed when we got there and the building was being renovated! Bye bye Culture Club.

This past Saturday I ran another 5K and shave off over two minutes from my last time! I came in at 30 min and 56 sec. thanks to Jessie who pushed me to better my time (and to try to get past the woman ahead of us). She ended up with her worst time ever because she chose to run with me...thank you!! We have another 5K coming up in three weeks at Medaille.

Fenway had his stitches out today! No more conehead for him and the molding in our house is very thankful!

This Thursday Aislinn and I are headed to Toronto to see the Cheetah Girls for the second time. It's girl's night out for us. That's about it other than this freezing weather!

Star 102.5 has already started playing Christmas music for those of you who are ready for the season to start!

Oh yeah...Twilight comes out this Friday...so excited! And Duran Duran is coming to Air Canada Centre on Dec. 9th but sadly I don't think I will make it up there to see them this year unless someone really wants to go with me (hint hint)!!

Thursday, November 6, 2008

Curling 101




On Saturday Jamie and I had the chance to try curling over in Niagara Falls, Canada, with Susan and Anthony Santarosa for a hockey fundraiser. What a blast! And so easy to learn! Anthony was our skip and Jamie was our team building skillmaster. I used to laugh at this "sport" until I realized how much fun it truly is and how much skill is involved. The ice is not smooth but pebbled and the rock really travels a lot further and faster than you would think. They put tape on the bottom of one of our sneakers and that was our slider foot. The only thing is that if both people sweeping are right or left handed it gets a little messy. You have to be careful not to run the other person over while paying attention to what you are doing.
These pics were taken on Anthony's iPhone. Pretty good pics.



I just liked yelling "HARD" even when we weren't sweeping!
















Saturday, November 1, 2008

Nov. 1st...



I don't know about anyone else, but this morning I had a bellyache from eating candy and pizza last night and drinking my Saranac pumpkin beer (by the way it's really good!). We went trick or treating in the village with Jen, Tony, Diane, and the kids. We had a really fun time at Kathy's house around her campfire and the weather was really great.

I found some recipes this morning for all that candy you might have. Just click on this link to take you there. I'm definintely want to try the Baby Ruth cookies. We have quite a few of those flying around the house.


Above is a picture ofAislinn and her grandparents (that's not my mom's real hair!). And below is Mia, Aislinn, and Grace striking a pose. I absolutely loved all their costumes this year! It's pretty nice having daylight savings time switched to this weekend and having it lighter out instead of trick or treating in the dark. And a reminder to turn back your clocks tonight!

Tonight Aislinn is going to two parties and gets to wear her Halloween costume again. Jamie and I are off to Canada to go curling!!


Happy All Saints Day!

Friday, October 31, 2008

Happy Halloween!!





It's gorgeous out today! After having pretty cold temps this week it's warm (well relatively speaking) and sunny out today!! Aislinn and I carved our pumpkins Wednesday night and here are the results. I posted them with and without the lights on and posted one with my pre-lit crow that I like so much. Aislinn cleaned and carved her own pumpkin this year all by herself. She wanted me to let everyone know that what she carved is a Pokemon symbol. I'll post pics of her in her costume over the weekend.
Tonight we'll be trick-or-treating in our old and new neighborhoods with friends and then we'll head over to Kathy's house for her annual Halloween get together. I'm really looking forward to it!

I hope everyone has a fun and safe Halloween!!