Friday, October 31, 2008

Happy Halloween!!





It's gorgeous out today! After having pretty cold temps this week it's warm (well relatively speaking) and sunny out today!! Aislinn and I carved our pumpkins Wednesday night and here are the results. I posted them with and without the lights on and posted one with my pre-lit crow that I like so much. Aislinn cleaned and carved her own pumpkin this year all by herself. She wanted me to let everyone know that what she carved is a Pokemon symbol. I'll post pics of her in her costume over the weekend.
Tonight we'll be trick-or-treating in our old and new neighborhoods with friends and then we'll head over to Kathy's house for her annual Halloween get together. I'm really looking forward to it!

I hope everyone has a fun and safe Halloween!!

Happy Birthday Fenway!




Fenway turned a year old on Monday and we had a little birthday party for him (Jamie's idea of course) and before we could cut the cake (yes there was a small cake) Jamie lifted Fenway up on his lap and after putting him down noticed blood on his shirt. Turns out Fenway had a rather large cut on his side and it was looking pretty nasty. We took him to the vet and an hour later he came home with eight staples in his side and a cone on his head. Above are pics of Moose (on the bottom) and Fenway (top) before the wound (or at least we think...we're still not sure how he got cut). Now we've started decorating Fenway's cone with Halloween stickers and basically whatever we can get our hands on. I am thinking of jazzing it up with some stick on jewels or something. I'll post pics of him tomorrow in his Elizabethan collar.

Tuesday, October 28, 2008

The Boo-ing continues...

The Boo-ing is still going on in our neighborhood. More posters are popping up in people's doors and windows. We Boo-ed two neighbors but not saying who just yet. Once Halloween is over we can all reveal who our secret Boo-ers are. We still have no idea who did our house and Aislinn has to keep quiet about our secret Boo's for four more days.

My friend Dawn has the same thing going on in her neighborhood but it's called the Phantom Bat. She got a really cool bottle of some type of liquor that looked like blood in a really cool bottle left on her doorstep this weekend.

I wonder what we'll be doing at Christmas time?!

Cool shoes

I admit...I am a shoe addict. I don't know how it started or when, but it's grown into a tiny obsession. I found this posting over at Daisy Chain yesterday and look what she found! And all at Target! Talk about a deal. I want one of each please!

Saturday, October 25, 2008

We've been Boo-ed!

Last night I came home to find a Halloween bag of goodies on my porch and this taped to the bag. I opened the bag very carefully (not sure what could be in there...you never know!) and found lots of candy and little Halloween goodies like pencils, toys, erasers, and stickers.
There was also a sign that we were to put on our front door or in our front window (see pic below). The instructions that came with it told us we had been Boo-ed and were to make up two goody bags and do the same to two other neighbors who didn't have the sign in the window in the next two days. Kind of like a Halloween Secret Santa. The idea is to see how many houses get Boo-ed before Halloween. I think it's really clever. I saw this afternoon that our neighbor down the street has a sign on their front door but we don't know who exactly Boo-ed us. Our sign is in our front window. Now we just have to figure out who we're going to Boo!



My first 5K!



Today I ran my first 5K with my friends from work Jonathan and Jessie (in the above pic taken before the race). It was the Jack-O-Lantern run in Niagara Falls. It absolutely poured but it was a lot of fun and I finished in 33 minutes and 20 seconds which wasn't too shabby for my first time. I ran into an old acquaintance at the starting line and he asked me if I was going for a PR (personal record...he clarified that for me right away). I told him it was my first time and I just wanted to finish the race. Jessie and Jonathan did well too. I lost them within the first couple seconds at the starting line (they both ran in high school and are a little faster than me) but Jessie came back to run the last few hundred feet with me to the finish line after she was done. Jamie and Scott came out to take a few pics and cheer us on. We were absolutely soaked at the end but it was a fun morning and I'm glad I ran it. Now I am signed up for another in November in downtown Buffalo. Maybe it will be snowing that day! Below is a pic of me after the first 1 1/2 miles (approx.). We did two loops around Goat Island and this was after the first lap.




The guy ahead of me kind of looked like John Lovitz.



Thursday, October 23, 2008

Oooh la la


I loved the nailpolish selections featured on Cupcakes and Cashmere and decided to purchase a color or two for myself. I found these on Amazon and snapped them up. I thought it would be easier than committing myself to a whole bottle in case I didn't like any of the colors.


Halloween costume


Aislinn has decided to be Dawn from Pokemon Diamond and Pearl this year. Fortunately I found a woman on e-bay who makes this costume and includes boot covers, the wig, and she throws in Pokemon cards and little extras like a cinch bad and tote bag in her order. Our skirt /skort is not as short and we'll be wearing leggings (which the seller was kind to also include) and probably a bodysuit under it was well for warmth. Pretty cool costume. I wasn't sure how much time I had to put it together myself so I'm very thankful for the e-bay seller! I'll be sure to post pics of Aislinn all dressed up!

Hurricane Wilma!


I just lent my Flintstones costumes to my co-worker for a Halloween party this weekend. It brought back fun memories and I found the pic of Jamie and I dressed up as Fred and Wilma on our old wedding website and thought I would share it. Pretty funny. This picture was taken at Danielle and Danny's Halloween party back in 2005. We used an Austin Powers wig for Jamie and cut it to look more "Fredish" and I had a Little Mermaid wig which we pinned up. I look more like Lucille Ball than Wilma but it worked.

Tuesday, October 21, 2008

The blue suede shoes are not dead!

Well I missed the cutoff time to return my ever famous blue suede shoes and now they officially mine. So everyone get ready...you'll be seeing them this season! Maybe I should be Smurfette for Halloween. I would look like this:



On second thought...maybe not. Plus the Smurfs had white shoes, not blue.

I'll incorporate my shoes into my wardrobe somehow.

Web or no web?

Last week I was shopping at Wegmans and found these cool pre-lit Halloween crows and since they were on sale I just couldn't resist. So here is a picture of my new friend, Mr. Crow, sitting on his pumpkin. I tried to take a pic of him lit up but it didn't turn out so good so you'll have to pretend.


Pretty cute right? I thought he looked kind of lonely so with Aislinn's help we added some new friends.

Well I guess you can only see one of his friends in this picture and you can only see it if you squint real hard and look towards the left hand corner. And unfortunately I didn't hid the extension cord he's plugged into (I really have no way of hiding it). Anyway...you get the gist. Do you think he looks more spooky with the spiderwebs? Does he look less lonely?




Wooo-ah


Today I was in Wal-Mart shopping for items for my costume when I rounded a corner and was facing this poster. I'm so looking forward to this movie coming out and I'm hoping to round up my fellow readers to go with me. Go Team Edward!!

Saturday, October 18, 2008

Yeah baby!



Today I was browsing through the Piperlime website and found these little babies by Ralph Lauren. Aren't they awesome? I can see these with a sweater coat and jeans all cozy looking.
Of course they have to be pricey (very pricey) but one can dream.
I also found these Jessica Simpson ones as well which are cute in their own way but I'm not loving them as much as the above pair.




Maybe if I start saving my money now I can get them for myself for Christmas! Or if anyone out there is looking for a present for me I'm a size 8 (hint hint)!

Friday, October 17, 2008

Is this really important?


Our administrative assistant has had a bowl of candy corn on her desk for a couple weeks now that everyone dips into when they go into her office and she replinishes it when it gets low. Today I was having a sugar low and decided to grab a few on my way down the hall. What I tasted was not the yummy flavor of candy corn but more like cheap fake sugary maple syrup. It turns out that this particular batch was from the bulk section of the supermarket and not Brach's brand. We took it upon ourselves to make the decision that Brach's definitely has cornered the market on candy corn taste. Anyone else with us? And do you appreciate the little candy pumpkins they make as well as much as I do? I like the bag where they mix the pumpkins and corn together. Isn't this the most ridiculous post ever? I mean who cares. It's SUGAR!!

Organization!

Jamie bought me a new desk last night so I can start organizing all the things that are getting away from me and have a homebase for my Uppercase Living business. Above is the stock photo from Office Max. I don't have that computer or pencil cup on mine. I'll have a laptop and something girly like a candle or fake plant and a pic of Aislinn of course. I've never been more excited to get organized and have my own little office space. Now all I need is a red stapler and some Initech office supplies.


Thursday, October 16, 2008

All aboard!


Bald Mtn. was very busy on Saturday while we were there hiking. Tons of people and so many dogs! The weather definitely brought them out just like it did us. After coming back down from the summit we noticed this bus parked at the trailhead (how could you not). I had to post a pic of it.

All aboard the Jesus bus!!

Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Spongebob glasses




Aislinn just got her first pair of glasses. She looks so studious and had to pose for the above pics. They are Spongebob glasses but you wouldn't know unless you saw the picture of him on the inside of the things that go over her ears (I don't know the technical name). She is so excited to have them and it should help her see better at school. Cute!

Sugar pumpkin


For months I've been getting Everyday Food by Martha Stewart and have yet to try a recipe. That's until tonight. I bought two sugar pumpkins for a dollar at the local produce stand where we get our Halloween pumpkins and tried her recipe for roasted pumpkin with olive oil, shallots, and sage. OMG...this recipe turned out awesome and it was SO easy. I ate almost the whole batch once it cooled! I am saving some to try her recipe with the above roasted pumpkin concoction, rigatoni, and goat cheese. YUMMY! I posted a pic of the mixture right before I put it in the oven just because I thought it looked kind of cool.


Awesome weekend




We had the perfect weekend and I hate to be back at work. The temps were in the 70's with plenty of sunshine, beautiful foliage, loons on the lake, and TONS of food. We could have fed a family of four for about three weeks with all the food we had. The trees were past peak and the leaves were falling but that didn't diminish the color at all.


Saturday we hiked up Bald Mtn. and went up the fire tower there to witness a spectacular view. Sunday the kids played miniature golf at the Nutty Putty in Old Forge and some of the adults went shopping. The nights were topped off with campfires and pumpkin beer (Saranac beer...it's very yummy! Kudos to Nancy who found it in the local grocery store!). We couldn't have asked for a better weekend!

Friday, October 10, 2008

Friday!


After a three day sick spell I am finally back to work but only for a short time. This afternoon I am headed up to the Adirondacks for Columbus Day weekend with our friends from Rochester. I am heavily medicated at the moment so this should be an interesting weekend!! We've rented a five bedroom/3 bathroom house between Old Forge and Inlet. I'll post some pics when we get back.
Have a great weekend!

Tuesday, October 7, 2008

Sicko

Today I am home with a yucky head cold. And it's absolutely gorgeous outside! Bummer. I am headed to the Adirondacks this weekend for some much needed R&R and need to get better soon so I am resting today and keeping the cold medicine flowing.

Did you know that you can make a customize box of Kleenex with pictures and stuff? Why would I want to do that? Maybe so you could put a pic of your ex on there and when you're crying over them you can look at them too? On top of that they are $4.99/box plus shipping!!

Sunday, October 5, 2008

Here doggy doggy


Here is a good pic of Fenway and Moose staring at Aislinn while she ate Goldfish crackers. Nothing like a tiny cheddar cracker to hold a dog's attention.

Horse show 2008





Yesterday Aislinn was in her third horse show and was the reserve champion! Lots of ribbons all the way around!

Friday, October 3, 2008

Goodbye shoes




After talking with various friends about the blue suede shoes I purchased a month ago, I had to send them back. They just aren't the sensible thing to do right now and unless I am planning on throwing my feet up in the air to show them off there's really no point. And they aren't as comfortable as I'd hoped they would be so off they go along with the purple flats I had so much hope for as well.

I replaced the two pairs of shoes with these Dansko clogs today.


Sensible yes, practical yes, less expensive than the other two combined? A rousing YES!! I will not be throwing my feet up in the air with these babies on. I could really hurt someone. But for work and basic running around they are what I need. For now I will only be looking at the great Manolo Blahnik blue shoes in the SATC movie (pictured above) and wishing I had an extra $945.00 lying around to purchase them. But with the 700 billion bailout approved today I doubt I will ever have that kind of money lying around!



















Goes without saying


Love this card. It says it all.

Sarah, SARAH!! (a little Jefferson Starship there)


Say what you want but I like this woman. She's witty, funny, and I can relate to her. Well that's what the people on TV were saying last night after the debate. Repulicans anyway. Afterwards Jamie was starting to use the word "maverick" in every other sentence.

As for me I think she's a little spitfire and a minx and I believe I've found my Halloween costume for this year (and I'm sure there will be many others doing a takeoff on her as well...Caribou anyone?).
Now Jamie has to dress up like McCain. Should be interesting.

Ahhh...Friday


I received this pic in an e-mail from Lisa this morning. I don't know why but I have a soft spot for the drunk pumpkin. Maybe because I have felt his pain way too many times or I'm reminded how sad it can get when you get to that point during a game of quarters. The guy on top seems to be feeling his pain as well or maybe he just doesn't like the brand of beer he's drinking. What I really want to know is what's going on with the little guy? I think he's enjoying his glass of wine but how well can he really handle his liquor being so small? And hollow?